• 4:10
  • 5:14
  • 4:59
Traditional and Contemporary Hawaiian Music

 BUY HE INOA! In Hawaiʻi you can find it at Barnes  & Noble, Long’s, Walgreens, Walmart, 7-Eleven, Don Quixote's, Hungry Ear, and Basically Books.  (Target will also carry it beginning Aug. 7)  

 IF YOUʻRE NOT IN HAWAIʻI, you can buy it  online at:​​

Maunalua’s highly-anticipated fourth album, He Inoa, is in stores now! He Inoa (“We Are” Maunalua) was so named because it introduces the group’s newest member; vocalist and ‘ukulele and guitar player Richard Gideon, who joined the group in 2009. The album continues Maunalua’s tradition of blending unique harmonies, kī hōʻalu (slack key) guitar, and ʻukulele, and features a blend of traditional Hawaiian songs such as “Hilo One” in a medley with William S. Ellis’ “Hula O Makee”; hula standards such as “Pua ʻAhihi” (a trademark song of the Kahauanu Lake Trio); and several original songs, including one by band member Bobby Moderow (“Spirit of Hawaiʻi”) and another by the award-winning Kumu Hula and multi-Nā Hōkū Hanohano Award winner Manu Boyd, who composed “Maunalua He Inoa” especially for them. 

The album also includes fan-favorite “He Is the Only Reason,” with a twist suggested by the group’s award-winning producer Dave Tucciarone, that adds a whole new dimension to the song – that of Denny Hemingson’s (Tim McGraw and Faith Hill) pedal steel guitar, which gives it a bit of a country gospel feel and elevates the song to a whole new level not previously heard in the group’s live performances. Other guest artists include Casey Olsen, who plays steel guitar throughout the album; Hoʻomanawanui Apo, who plays piano on “Ke Aloha”; and Keo Skudlarick on percussion for “Ke'Ala O Ka Rose”.

Track List:

1. Maunalua He Inoa - Written and Arranged by Manu Boyd
2. Hilo One/Hula O Makee
3. Pohai Kealoha
4. Ke'Ala O Ka Rose – featuring Keo Skudlarick on percussion
5. Mele ʻO Kahoolawe
6. Aloha ʻiaʻo Wai'anae
7. Ku'u Pua Maeʻole
8. He Punahele No ʻOe
9. Waikiki Hula
10. Ke Aloha – featuring Hoʻomanawanui Apo on Piano
11. Nani
12. Pua ʻAhihi
13. Spirit of Hawaiʻi - Written and Arranged by Bobby Moderow Jr.
14. He is the Only Reason – featuring Denny Hemingson on Steel Guitar